Veggie Ramen at Whole Foods Orlando

Did you know that the Whole Foods in Orlando had a ramen bar?? It sure was a pleasant surprise for me. We were there on a Saturday night, and they were serving ramen until 7:30pm that night. We got there just in time at 7:20pm 🙂

 

We got a bowl of the $8.99 Veggie Ramen (light veggie broth, mayu, scallions, red ginger, steamed mixed veggies, black mushrooms, seaweed, ajitsuke-tamago (marinated boiled egg on the side)). It’s hard to find vegetarian ramen (especially with a vegetarian broth), so I was super excited. The broth was nicely flavored – it had a soy sauce ginger flavor. The veggies were plentiful and the noodles were cooked well. I enjoyed the ajitsuke tamago, but I wish it had both halves of the egg (especially since I was sharing).

On the counter, they have some spices you can add to your ramen – white pepper, crushed chili blend, and fried garlic. The fried garlic was almost empty, so it seems to be a popular choice. I mean, who doesn’t like garlic? Since I don’t like spicy food, I just added the white pepper and fried garlic, and they added a nice zest to the ramen.

14797489_10104815048550963_1230548369_n
beautiful ramen up-close

Apparently, you can also add “extras” to your bowl. Next time I share a bowl of ramen, I will opt to add some extra noodles and ajitsuke-tamago…or maybe I will get my own bowl 😉

Leave a Reply

